Product Page

FORMAT:

  • ISBN 13: 9781941920008
  • ISBN 10: 1941920004
  • Price: $15.95 / $17.50 CAN
  • Status: Active

Texas

The Great Theft

By (author) Carmen Boullosa, Translated by Samantha Schnee

""Mexico's greatest woman writer.""—Roberto Bolaño

""A luminous writer . . . Boullosa is a masterful spinner of the fantastic""—Miami Herald

An imaginative writer in the tradition of Juan Rulfo, Jorge Luis Borges, and Cesar Aira, Carmen Boullosa shows herself to be at the height of her powers with her latest novel. Loosely based on the little-known 1859 Mexican invasion of the United States, Texas is a richly imagined evocation of the volatile Tex-Mex borderland. Boullosa views border history through distinctly Mexican eyes, and her sympathetic portrayal of each of her wildly diverse characters—Mexican ranchers and Texas Rangers, Comanches and cowboys, German socialists and runaway slaves, Southern belles and dancehall girls—makes her storytelling tremendously powerful and absorbing.

Shedding important historical light on current battles over the Mexican–American frontier while telling a gripping story with Boullosa's singular prose and formal innovation, Texas marks the welcome return of a major writer who has previously captivated American audiences and is poised to do so again.

Carmen Boullosa (b. 1954) is one of Mexico's leading novelists, poets, and playwrights. Author of seventeen novels, her books have been translated into numerous world languages. Recipient of numerous prizes and honors, including a Guggenheim fellowship, Boullosa is currently Distinguished Lecturer at City College of New York.

Samantha Schnee is founding editor and chairman of the board of Words Without Borders. She has also been a senior editor with Zoetrope, and her translations have appeared in the Guardian, Granta, and the New York Times.

Consortium Book Sales & Distribution 34 Thirteenth Avenue NE, Suite 101, Minneapolis, MN 55413 612-746-2600

© 2016 Ingram Publisher Services LLC  |  Site Powered by Supadü

Consortium Logo