A Long and Messy Business

Bookseller or Librarian?BUY on IPAGE ®

Pub Date: 10/01/2019

Pages: 416

Trim: 8 x 11

Publisher: Unbound

Imprint: Unbound

ISBN 13: 9781783525195

ISBN 10: 1783525193

Price: / $51.99 CAN$39.95

Category: COOKING / Individual Chefs & Restaurants *

A Long and Messy Business

By Rowley Leigh

Price: $39.95

Format:

Hardcover

About the Book

'I get fed up with the number of cookbooks that promise quick and easy meals, those that promise a three-course dinner that can be knocked up in thirty minutes. Most cooking, and certainly most enjoyable cooking, takes a little longer. I can knock something up in a hurry if I have to – there are plenty of quick and easy recipes in this book – but that ability was a long time in the acquisition, and I still prefer to take my time, in order to do it better than I did it last time.'

These recipes and essays, first published in the Financial Times, are a distillation of Rowley Leigh’s forty years as both a professional chef and a home cook. They detail with precision and wit how to cook and enjoy both unusual and familiar ingredients through the seasons. With Leigh’s succinct wine recommendations and over 120 recipes, this is a book to get messy with overuse in the kitchen and to pore over in an armchair with a glass of the author’s beloved Riesling close to hand.

About the Book

The definitive collection of recipes from one of the inventors of modern British cooking: the celebrated chef and three-time Glenfiddich Award-winning food writer Rowley Leigh

Author

Rowley Leigh is one of Britain’s most celebrated and influential chefs, and has won three Glenfiddich awards for his food writing. These 120 straightforward recipes allow everyone to eat Rowley’s classical, elegant food; a signature style he has spent over forty years perfecting. Rowley will be appearing at Hay Festival, and is available for events in the run-up to publication. Widespread review and feature coverage is expected.  For fans of Nigel Slater and Simon Hopkinson, as well as recipe books such as Oliver Rowe’s Food for All Seasons, Skye Gyngell’s A Year in My Kitchen, Claire Lattin and Tom Hill's Ducksoup Cookbook and The River Café Cookbook by Rose Gray and Ruth Rogers. The book features photographs by Andy Sewell, whose book The Heath won the International Photobook Award in 2012, and whose work can be found in important collections across the world.