Grief Sequence

Bookseller or Librarian?BUY on IPAGE ®

Pub Date: 09/03/2019

Pages: 104

Publisher: Wave Books

Imprint: Wave Books

ISBN 13: 9781940696881

ISBN 10: 1940696887

Price: / $25.99 CAN$20.00

Category: POETRY / American / General

Grief Sequence

By Prageeta Sharma

Price: $20.00

About the Book

Offering a series of poems rooted in the profoundly narrative yet disorienting experience of losing a loved one, Prageeta Sharma, in Grief Sequence, summons all of her resources in order to attempt any semblance, poetic or otherwise, of clear sense in trauma. In doing so she shows that grief, frustrating to logic and yet as real as any experience we might know, is ripe for the sort of intellectual and emotional processing of which poetry is most capable.

About the Book

With staggering emotional honesty, Prageeta Sharma confronts the sudden loss of her spouse to cancer.


Prageeta Sharma is the author of the poetry collections Grief Sequence (Wave Books, forthcoming), Undergloom (Fence Books, 2013), Infamous Landscapes (Fence Books, 2007), The Opening Question (Fence Books, 2004), which won the 2004 Fence Modern Poets Prize, and Bliss to Fill (Subpress, 2000). She is the founder of the conference Thinking Its Presence: Race, Creative Writing, Literary Studies and Art. A recipient of the 2010 Howard Foundation Award, she recently became the Henry G. Lee ’37 Professor of English at Pomona College.