The Rapture Index

Bookseller or Librarian?BUY on IPAGE ®

Pub Date: 05/14/2019

Pages: 227

Trim: 5 x 8

Publisher: BOA Editions Ltd.

Imprint: BOA Editions Ltd.

ISBN 13: 9781942683827

ISBN 10: 1942683820

Price: $17.00 / $22.99 CAN

Category: FICTION / Short Stories (single author)

The Rapture Index

By Molly Reid

Price: $17.00

Format:

Paperback

About the Book

“Thought-provoking, unthinkable, and fun, Reid’s debut is perfect for fans of David Lynch, Alissa Nutting, and George Saunders.”—Booklist

Loosely based on the medieval bestiary, The Rapture Index examines the relationship between animals, humans, and storytelling. Harnessing the bestiary’s combination of religious parable, encyclopedia, and artifice, Molly Reid journeys deep into suburbia to reveal characters struggling to fulfill the expectations of society and family while indulging their baser desires. Filled with moments of curiosity, misunderstanding, fervor, and heart, these stories offer a new twist on familiar landscapes where the wilderness has been tamed (sometimes just barely) but our own animal nature cannot be.

About the Book

A collection of award-winning stories that put the medieval bestiary through a postmodern blender to explore the wilderness of suburbia.

Author

Molly Reid’s debut collection of stories, The Rapture Index: A Suburban Bestiary, won the seventh annual BOA Short Fiction Prize. Her stories have appeared on NPR and in the journals TriQuarterly, Crazyhorse, The Pinch, Gulf Coast, Indiana Review, Redivider, and The Normal School, among others. She has received fellowship and residency support from the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, the Millay Colony for the Arts, the Anderson Center, the Ucross Foundation, I-Park, and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. She is currently a PhD student at the University of Cincinnati, at work on a novel. For more information about Molly Reid, please visit mollyjeanreid.com.

Awards

BOA Short Fiction Prize