Don't Say a Word, Mama / No Digas Nada, Mama

Bookseller or Librarian?BUY on IPAGE ®

Pub Date: 09/24/2013

Pages: 32

Trim: 9 x 11

Publisher: Cinco Puntos Press

Imprint: Cinco Puntos Press

ISBN 13: 9781935955450

ISBN 10: 1935955454

Price: $8.95 / $11.99 CAN

Category: JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings

Don't Say a Word, Mama / No Digas Nada, Mama

By Joe Hayes, Esau Andrade Valencia

Price: $8.95

About the Book

Mamá says she has the best daughters in the world. The two women live near their mother—Rosa with her husband and children, Blanca by herself. They both have flourishing gardens. Rosa and Blanca are so generous and kind and thoughtful—well, everyone, including Mamá, ends up with too much corn, tomatoes, and red hot chiles! It's crazy! It's also Joe Hayes at his finest, telling one of those stories young kids love, full of mishaps, surprise endings, and happy mommas! In fact, one seven-year old—after hearing Joe tell Don't Say a Word, Mamá!—came home and told her mother, "I heard a story today that I think changed my life!" That's a pretty fantastic endorsement!

2014 Honor Book, Patterson Prize for Books for Young People

Joe Hayes has been enchanting listeners and readers alike for over thirty years. His books have received many awards including two Land of Enchantment Children's Book Awards and an Aesop Accolade Award. His books have also been on the Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List three times. Ghost Fever won the Texas Bluebonnet Award for 2006–2007.

Esau Andrade Valencia comes from a family of folk artists. He is increasingly being recognized as a master artist in the tradition of Diego Rivera and Rufino Tamayo. His paintings are included in the collection of the Museum of Latin American Art in Long Beach, California, as well as in the Downey Museum of Art in Downey, California.

About the Book

Can a pair of sisters be too generous with each other? Only if their mother doesn't say a word.

Author

Joe Hayes is one of America's premier storytellers. He grew up in a small town in southern Arizona where he learned Spanish from his classmates. As he got older, Joe began gathering old stories from the Southwest. Joe has earned a distinctive role as a bilingual storyteller. Antonio Castro L. was born in Zacatecas, Mexico and has lived in the Juarez-El Paso area for most of his life. He has illustrated dozens of childrens' books including Pájaro Verde and Treasure on Gold Street. Joe Hayes is one of America's premier storytellers. He grew up in a small town in southern Arizona where he learned Spanish from his classmates. As he got older, Joe began gathering old stories from the Southwest. Joe has earned a distinctive role as a bilingual storyteller.

Born in Mexico, Esau Andrade Valencia comes from a family of folk artists. Although still young, he is increasingly recognized as a master artist in the tradition of the great painters such as Diego Rivera and Rufino Tamayo, in whose footsteps he follows. Esau's paintings are included in the collection of The Museum of Latin American Art in Long Beach as well as in the Downey Museum of Art in California.

Awards

Kirkus Best Children's Books 2013
Tejas Star Reading List Selection, 2014-15
2014 Honor Book, Patterson Prize for Books for Young People